Barmore And Evans Earn All-Region Honors

By  | 

Friday, Mar. 15, 2019
FLORENCE, S.C. – University of South Carolina Aiken men's basketball standouts Xzavier Barmore and Ty'lik Evans have been named to the D2CCA all-region team.

Evans picked up first-team honors while Barmore earned second-team accolades.

Evans, a native of Macon, Ga., poured in a team-high 19.6 points per game. He also tallied 5.4 rebounds, 4.1 assists and 3.97 steals per contest. Evans' 123 steals is not only a school record, but is also a PBC single-season ledger. He is second nationally in total steals and steals per contest. Evans poured in a career-high 38 points in the win over North Georgia. His 11 made three-point field goals against the Nighthawks tied the school record.

Barmore, a native of Seneca, S.C., averaged 17.9 points per game. He also accounted for 6.0 assists and 3.7 rebounds per outing. He scored a career-high 27 points in the win over Georgia College. Barmore established a school-record 14 assists in the win over Paine before besting it with 17 assists, setting a PBC Tournament single-game record, in the quarterfinal win over Lander. He tallied three double-doubles on the season as well.

The 2018-19 D2CCA men's basketball All-America team will be announced on Tuesday, March 26. The five first-team members from each of the country's eight regions are placed on the national ballot with NCAA Division II Sports Information Directors selecting first, second and third-team All-America honorees. The Ron Lenz Player of the Year will also be chosen from a list comprised of the eight Regional Players of the Year.

The Division II Conference Commissioners Association encourages and promotes Division II athletics and high standards of sportsmanship as important elements of higher education. The CCA is a key communications link among the conferences as they discuss views, policies and regulations that impact Division II intercollegiate athletics and works closely with the NCAA as a communications channel to NCAA Division II member colleges and universities.

Division II Conference Commissioners Association 2018-19 Men's Basketball Southeast All-Region Team
First Team
DeQuan Abrom (Belmont Abbey College)# 6-2 Junior Guard Washington, DC
Ty'lik Evans (USC Aiken) 5-8 Senior Guard Macon, GA
Brandon Parker (Francis Marion University) 6-3 Senior Forward Sumter, SC
Shaun Willett (Queens University of Charlotte)* 6-4 Senior Forward Palm Bay, FL
Deane Williams (Augusta University) 6-8 Senior Forward Bristol, England

Second Team
Xzavier Barmore (USC Aiken) 6-0 Junior Guard Seneca, SC
Daniel Carr (Queens University of Charlotte) 6-0 Junior Guard North Augusta, SC
Marco Haskins (Wingate University) 6-5 Senior Guard Fredericksburg, VA
Cornelius Taylor (Lincoln Memorial University) 6-0 Junior Guard Claxton, GA
Jameel Taylor (Catawba College) 6-4 Senior Guard Anderson, SC

*-2018-19 Southeast Region Player of the Year #-2017-18 second-team All-Southeast Pick