Braves opening day roster set

By  | 

Thursday, March 28, 2019

ATLANTA – The Atlanta Braves today officially set their 25-man roster for Opening Day after placing RHP Mike Foltynewicz (right elbow bone spur), RHP Kevin Gausman (right shoulder tendinitis), LHP A.J. Minter (left shoulder inflammation) and RHP Darren O’Day (right forearm strain) on the 10-day injured list, while selecting the contracts of RHP Josh Tomlin and OF Matt Joyce. All of the injured list placements are backdated to March 25. In addition, the club designated C Raffy Lopez for assignment.

The final roster includes 13 pitchers, two catchers, six infielders and four outfielders.

The Braves have nine players who made their first Opening Day roster, including four rookies in RHPs Wes Parson, Chad Sobotka, Bryse Wilson and Kyle Wright. The other five players who will be a part of their first major league Opening Day are LHP Jesse Biddle, who changed his number to 19 this season, LHP Max Fried, RHP Luke Jackson, who changed his number to 77 this season, INF Johan Camargo and OF Ronald Acuña Jr.

This season will mark OF Nick Markakis’ team-high 14th Opening Day overall and his fifth with Atlanta. Three of the players on the roster (Tomlin, Joyce and INF Josh Donaldson) will be wearing a Braves uniform for the first time in their career, while 11 players are returning from last year’s opener. C Brian McCann returns to Atlanta for his eighth Opening Day, his first with the team since the 2013 season.
The average age of the Opening Day roster is 28, compared to 29 for last year’s version. The oldest player is 35-year-old Markakis, while 21-year-old Acuña Jr. is the youngest.

PITCHERS (13): LHP Jesse Biddle, RHP Shane Carle, LHP Max Fried, RHP Luke Jackson, LHP Sean Newcomb, RHP Wes Parsons, RHP Chad Sobotka, RHP Julio Teheran, RHP Josh Tomlin, LHP Jonny Venters, RHP Arodys Vizcaíno, RHP Bryse Wilson, RHP Kyle Wright
CATCHERS (2): Tyler Flowers, Brian McCann
INFIELDERS (6): Ozzie Albies, Johan Camargo, Charlie Culberson, Josh Donaldson, Freddie Freeman, Dansby Swanson
OUTFIELDERS (4): Ronald Acuña Jr., Ender Inciarte, Matt Joyce, Nick Markakis