S. Carolina to expand business closures as COVID-19 takes more lives

(MGN Image)
(MGN Image)(KOSA)
Published: Apr. 3, 2020 at 4:31 PM EDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Friday, April 3, 2020

COLUMBIA, SC (WRDW/WAGT) -- Three more people have died of coronavirus in South Carolina, where there will soon be expanded closures of non-essential businesses to cut the spread of COVID-19.

The state's total number of COVID-19 deaths has reached 34, according to figures released Friday.

Meanwhile, Gov. Henry McMaster announced an expansion coming Monday of the closure on non-essential businesses to help cut the spread of COVID-19. The expansion will include such retailers as furniture and clothing stores. Home improvement stores can remain open.

McMaster also said short-term rentals will be banned for many people from areas with high levels of the virus.

The three latest South Carolina patients to die were elderly individuals who also had underlying health conditions. Two were residents of Richland County and one of Greenville County.

“If we all take seriously our individual obligations to help prevent spread of the disease, we have the potential to save lives,” Dr. Michael Kacka, DHEC medical consultant, said in a news release. “Our sympathies are with the friends and family of these three individuals, and with all the loved ones who’ve lost someone to this disease.”

DHEC also is reporting 147 additional cases of COVID-19. As of Friday, the total number statewide was 1,700 cases in all 46 counties.

The number of new cases by county are listed below:

• Anderson County: 5 cases

• Beaufort County: 2 cases

• Berkeley County: 9 cases

• Charleston County: 16 cases

• Chester County: 1 case

• Clarendon County: 3 cases

• Dorchester County: 1 case

• Edgefield County: 1 case

• Florence County: 3 cases

• Georgetown County: 1 case

• Greenville County: 20 cases

• Greenwood County: 1 case

• Horry County: 1 case

• Jasper County: 1 case

• Kershaw County: 7 cases

• Lee County: 5 cases

• Lancaster County: 5 cases

• Laurens County: 2 cases

• Lexington County: 8 cases

• Newberry County: 1 case

• Orangeburg County: 1 case

• Pickens County: 2 cases

• Richland County: 24 cases

• Spartanburg County: 10 cases

• Sumter County: 9 cases

• Union County: 1 case

• York County: 7 cases

Latest News

Latest News