Places to go and who to call if you're a victim of domestic violence

By  | 

Thursday, Dec. 29, 2016

(WRDW/WAGT) -- There are a number of domestic violence shelters and safe homes in the CSRA for men, women, and children. We're on your side with a list of places on both sides of the Savannah River.

If you are in immediate danger, please call 911.

Find a domestic shelter near you, click here.

Click here for how you can get help from a victim advocate in Augusta.

- Grace House Augusta
(706) 304-2381
Grace House is a women's only, 8 bed, sober living program. It is a 12 step/faith based and out program length is 9 months to a year. Residents work after 90 days and become self supporting.

- Domestic Violence Intervention Center or Safehomes of Augusta, Inc.
Safe Homes Domestic Violence Intervention
Provides emergency shelter, support group counseling, referral services, outreach services and legal advocacy to victims of domestic violence in the east/central Georgia counties of: Richmond, Columbia, Burke, Glascock, Jefferson, Lincoln, McDuffie, Talliaferro, Wilkes and Warren.

South Carolina
Cumbee Center To Assist Abused Persons
Hotline number: 803-649-0480
Click for a list of online hotlines.

Who you can call
24 HR Crisis Hotline - 706.736.2499 1.800.799.SAFE
To speak to a SafeHomes' representative: 24-hr hotline 706-736-2499
Safe Homes Domestic Violence Intervention

What is Georgia's Law on Domestic Violence?
Georgia law defines domestic violence as any felony, battery, simple battery, simple assault, assault, stalking, criminal damage to property, unlawful restraint, and criminal trespass between past or present spouses, persons who are parents of the same child, parents and children, stepparents and stepchildren, foster parents and foster children, and persons living or formerly living in the same household. You do not have to be married to someone to be a victim of domestic violence in Georgia.

What is South Carolina's Law on Domestic Violence?
A person may be found guilty of criminal domestic violence (CDV) if they cause physical harm or injury to a household member; or attempt to cause physical harm or injury to a household member. They must have had ability to harm and circumstances must reasonably create fear of imminent harm.