First time teachers in Georgia receive grant


Wednesday, January 9, 2019

AUGUSTA, Ga. (WRDW/WAGT) – Several local teachers across the CSRA have received a new teacher grant from Georgia Power.

Every year since 2004, Georgia Power has given a $1,000 to teachers who are eligible and nominated for the New Teacher Assistance Grants.

To be eligible for the grant, candidates must be in the top 25% of their class, be a first-year teacher employed by a public school in Georgia and demonstrate a high aptitude for teaching.

The following teachers have been listed as recipients of the grant.

Chauntilena Butler from the Richmond County School District, Zanquisha Monique Lodge, from Jefferson County Schools, Hunter Peace and Marielba Mata from Columbia County Schools.

Congratulations to these wonderful teachers for a job well done.