Aiken Public School District announces principal, teacher of the year among awards

APSD Principal of the Year Principal Dr. Salvatore Minolfo and Teacher of the Year Elizabeth Wright were awarded Tuesday.
By  | 

Thursday, June 6, 2019

AIKEN, S.C. (WRDW/WAGT) -- As another school year comes to a close, the Aiken Public School District came together to honor its educators Tuesday night.

The event, held at the USC-Aiken Convocation Center, recognized stars in public education.

Belvedere Elementary Principal Dr. Salvatore Minolfo was named the 2019-20 Aiken County Principal of the Year. Runners-up for the award were Aiken High School Principal Garen Cofer and Paul Knox Middle School Principal Dr. Jason Holt.

“This is a great honor, but it really is not about me and what I have done. It is about all the wonderful things so many others have been doing with me that have helped us achieve everything we have achieved," said Dr. Sal Minolfo.

Teacher of the Year was awarded to North Augusta High School science teacher Elizabeth Wright.

Kennedy Middle School Media Specialist Michelle King, Center for Innovative Learning Teacher Kim Gracey, Belvedere Elementary School Teacher Tabatha Younts, Leavelle McCampbell Middle School Teacher Jennifer McMillian, and Langley-Bath-Clearwater Middle School Teacher Sally Jenkins were also considered for the award this year.

“It is just amazing to receive this honor, and it is very humbling,” Wright said. “I love working with students and helping them every day. Teaching is definitely my passion, and this is what I was meant to do.”

The winner of the Aiken County Giving Even More (GEM) Winner is Paul Knox Middle School Nurse Sarah Padgett.

The following teachers were also honored as Teacher of the Year at their respective schools:
Kortney Garrett (Aiken County Career and Technology Center)
Chevonne Slack (Aiken Elementary School); Tonya Moton (Aiken High School)
Tracy Finch (Aiken Middle School)
Josh Hobbs (Aiken Performing Arts Academy/Lloyd Kennedy Charter School)
Sharonda Jacobs (Aiken Scholars Academy)
Tabatha Younts (Belvedere Elementary School)
Tara Sanders-Davis (A.L. Corbett Middle School)
Melesia Farkas (Busbee Elementary)
Stacy Mayson (Byrd Elementary School)
Kimberly Gracey (Center for Innovative Learning)
Carrie Lucas (Chukker Creek Elementary School)
Crystal Oerman (Clearwater Elementary School)
Ansley Shuford (East Aiken School of the Arts)
Jeanine Scott (Gloverville Elementary School)
Carol Hayes (Greendale Elementary School)
Jessica Nealious (Hammond Hill Elementary School)
Jennifer Perkins (Horse Creek Academy)
Louise Dent (J.D. Lever Elementary School)
Ophelia Mixon (Jackson STEM Middle School)
Christine Hair (Jefferson Elementary School)
Sally Jenkins (Langley-Bath-Clearwater Middle School)
Jennifer McMillian (Leavelle McCampbell Middle School)
Michelle King (Kennedy Middle School)
Russell Saunders (Midland Valley High School)
Alex Gomez (Millbrook Elementary School)
Melinda Bradley (Mossy Creek Elementary School)
Scott Sutherland (New Ellenton Middle STEAM Magnet School)
Sabrina Amos (North Aiken Elementary School)
April Benson (North Augusta Elementary School)
Elizabeth Wright (North Augusta High School)
Ann Cohen (North Augusta Middle School)
Stacey Waugh (Oakwood-Windsor Elementary School)
Megan Cooper (Paul Knox Middle School)
Kayce Buchanan (Redcliffe Elementary School)
Gayle Wilson (Ridge Spring-Monetta Elementary School)
Cayce Spire (Ridge Spring-Monetta Middle School)
Joseph Middlebrooks (Ridge Spring-Monetta High School)
Alexis Beachum Leasure (Schofield Middle School)
Brad Johnson (Silver Bluff High School)
Joan Grief (South Aiken High School)
Desiree Pernell (Warrenville Elementary School)
Melissa Bauers (Wagener-Salley High School)

Everyone at News 12 wants to give a big "thank you" to all the amazing educators across the CSRA. You are appreciated!

Copyright 2019 WRDW/WAGT. All rights reserved.