Ga., S.C. join efforts against federal mask, vaccination mandates

gavel generic
gavel generic(WAVE 3 News)
Published: Mar. 10, 2022 at 12:19 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

AUGUSTA, Ga. (WRDW/WAGT) - The Georgia and South Carolina attorneys general are joining dozens of others in demanding the end of the Head Start program’s mask mandate and federal contractor vaccine mandate.

In November, President Joe Biden and his administration announced a regulation requiring the masking of children and toddlers in participating schools and day-care sites.

The attorneys general argue that the mandate subjects children and toddlers to arbitrary and inconsistent discipline for not wearing a mask, and that it it’s time for the policy to be rescinded.

“The powers of the president do not include ordering unlawful mandates to our citizens,” South Carolina Attorney General Alan Wilson said. “According to health experts, requiring masks for these young children is not what’s best for them, so this mandate needs to be rescinded.”

In addition to Wilson and Georgia Attorney General Chris Carr, the attorneys general signed on from Florida, Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia and West Virginia.

Georgia and South Carolina also signed on to an amicus brief supporting Kentucky’s suit seeking an immediate end to the mandate that requires federal contractors to ensure all employees receive a COVID-19 vaccine.

Wilson said, “This is about upholding the Constitution and the rule of law. No president has the authority to do what President Biden is trying to do here. He’s not a king.”

The amicus brief is in support of Kentucky’s multistate suit against the federal government in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 6th Circuit.

The amicus brief argues that the challenged vaccination requirements improperly intrude on states’ traditional powers.

In addition to Georgia and South Carolina, it’s signed by Florida, Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Utah and West Virginia.

Copyright 2022 WRDW/WAGT. All rights reserved.