By: Staff - Email
By: Staff - Email

Thursday, July 3, 2014

AUGUSTA, Ga. (WRDW) -- For the third year in a row, WRDW-TV News 12 earned the Pacemaker Award from the Georgia Associated Press along with numerous other awards throughout the year.

The Pacemaker Award honors outstanding excellence by the Georgia Associated Press.

While WRDW-TV News 12's overall coverage was highlighted, specific personalities and stories stuck out to the judges giving WRDW-TV News 12 eleven first place awards and eight honorable mentions/merit awards.

Anchor Laura Warren was named Best Anchor/Reporter from the Georgia Associated Press and Ryan Houston received an honorable mention. Richard Rogers was recognized by the Georgia Association of Broadcasters as the Best TV personality.

News 12 Sports, led by Sports Director Kevin Faigle, received first place in the Best Sports Program and Best Sportscast categories for Operation Football Live highlighting high school sports teams in the CSRA. Meredith Anderson was honored by the Georgia Association of Broadcasters with a merit award for Best Sports Reporter.

WRDW-TV News 12 not only excels in specialized reporting, but was named best in Newscast, Sportscast, Documentary, Spot News and Overall Staff Coverage. Flooding that impacted nearly all of the CSRA led WRDW-TV News 12 to at least three awards.

The Georgia Associated Press also gave Honorable Mentions to News 12 for the past year for Best Investigative Reporting, Best Multiplatform Coverage Of A Single Story and Best Specialized Reporting. WRDW-TV News 12 earned merit wards from Georgia Association of Broadcasters for Best News Story, Best Investigative Reporting and Best Feature Reporting.

News 12's Meredith Anderson was awarded an Emmy nomination for Best News Anchor in the Southeast Chapter.

WRDW-TV News 12 remains Augusta’s most honored news team.

Here's a list of all awards WRDW-TV News 12 has earned in the past year:


  • Emmy Nomination (Southeast Chapter): Best News Anchor: Meredith Anderson
  • Gold Circle Award: Charles Moody, Production Manager (Retired)

Georgia Association of Broadcasters Gabby Awards:

  • Best TV Personality: Richard Rogers
  • Best Newscast: News 12 at 6 o'clock
  • Best Sportscast
  • Best Use of Technology

Georgia Association of Broadcasters Merit Awards:

  • Best Sports Reporter: Meredith Anderson
  • Best News Story
  • Best Investigative Reporting
  • Best Feature Reporting

Georgia APME Broadcast Contest Award Winners:

  • TV Pacemaker Award
  • Best Documentary Or News Special Programming
  • Best Reporter and/or Anchor: Laura Warren
  • Best Sports Program
  • Best Spot News
  • Best Spot News Video
  • Best Staff Coverage

Georgia APME Broadcast Contest Honorable Mention:

  • Best Investigative Reporting
  • Best Multiplatform Coverage Of A Single Story
  • Best Reporter and/or Anchor: Ryan Houston
  • Best Specialized Reporting

Slideshow from awards banquets:

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 265706491 -
Gray Television, Inc.