USC Hall of Fame names newest members

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Monday June 15, 2013

COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) -- Late tennis coach Arlo Elkins, ex-shortstop Drew Meyer and two-time Super Bowl punter Max Runager head up the latest group of people named to the South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame.

The school announced the class of eight Monday. The group will be inducted September 12th.

Elkins was women's tennis coach from 1983-2012 and led the team to 17 straight NCAA appearances. He died in March 2012.

Meyer played for the Gamecocks from 2000 through 2002 and was a first-round pick of the Texas Rangers.

Runager punted for the Philadelphia Eagles, who reached the Super Bowl in 1980, and the title-winning San Francisco 49ers in 1984.

Others honored are softball's Megan Matthews, track's Charmaine Howell, baseball's Chris Boyle and football's Dave DeCamilla and the late Jake Bodkin.

Copyright 2013 Associated Press

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 215549171 -
Gray Television, Inc.