Three Gamecocks earn SEC baseball honors

By: Staff Reporter
By: Staff Reporter

Tuesday, May 28, 2013

Columbia, S.C. – Senior left-handed pitcher Tyler Webb and sophomore catcher Grayson Greiner received second-team All-SEC accolades as announced by the conference office on Tuesday afternoon. Freshman left-handed pitcher Jack Wynkoop completes the list of three Gamecocks to receive honors this season earning a spot on the SEC All-Freshman team.

Webb adds to his awards for the season after being named to NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List as well as earning preseason All-America honors from the NCBWA and Collegiate Baseball. He now owns the South Carolina career record for appearances with 106 after surpassing the previous mark of 102 set by Matt Price (2009-12). Webb is among SEC leaders with 16 saves including nine saves in conference contests and is 2-2 with a 1.24 ERA in 36.1 innings. He has 52 strikeouts to just 11 walks, opponents batting .211 against him and he has not allowed a run in 24 of 28 relief appearances this year. He has pitched in relief in 94 career appearances, with 74 relief appearances without allowing a run (78.7 percent). In career relief appearances he is 10-3 with 19 saves. Webb has also been named as a semifinalist for the 2013 Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations and selected by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Associaion.

Greiner was named to 2013 USA Baseball Collegiate National Team as well as Johnny Bench Award Watch list for best catcher in the nation and earned Preseason All-America honors from Collegiate Baseball. He was Carolina’s top hitter in SEC games with a .310 average (31-for-100) in 27 starts with three homers and 14 RBI. He is hitting .291 (53-for-182) for the season with four homers and 35 RBI. He has 10 doubles, second highest on the team, and has scored 27 runs. This marks the second time Greiner has received SEC honors after securing a spot on the SEC All-Freshman Team last season.

For two straight weeks in the end of April, South Carolina freshman left-hander Jack Wynkoop was named SEC Freshman of the Week. Wynkoop worked seven scoreless innings in a 4-0 victory at No. 2 LSU in the rubber game of a three-game series, handing the Tigers their first series loss of the year. Wynkoop never reached a 3-ball count in the entire stint and limited the Tigers, the second ranked offense in the league, to just five hits with no walks. Wynkoop combined with two other Gamecocks for the six-hit shutout. He pitched a season-high eight innings to earn the win in 3-1 victory over Kentucky, did not walk a batter and allowed just one unearned run on nine hits. Wynkoop is 7-3 on the year with a 2.81 ERA in 57.2 innings with 33 strikeouts to 10 walks.

SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt
SEC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR - Sam Frost, Mississippi State
SEC COACH OF THE YEAR - Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt

1B - Mason Katz, LSU
2B - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt
3B - Christian Ibarra, LSU
SS - Alex Bregman, LSU
C - Stuart Turner, Ole Miss
OF - Hunter Renfroe, Mississippi State
OF - Mike Yastrzemski, Vanderbilt
OF - Raph Rhymes, LSU
DH/UTL - Keaton Steele, Missouri
A.J. Reed, Kentucky
P - Ryne Stanek, Arkansas
P - Aaron Nola, LSU
RP - Jonathan Holder, Mississippi State

1B - Garrett Cooper, Auburn
2B - Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State
JaCoby Jones, LSU
3B - Curt Powell, Georgia
Andrew Mistone, Ole Miss
SS - Mikey Reynolds, Texas A&M
Mikey White, Alabama
C - Grayson Greiner, South Carolina
OF - Connor Harrell, Vanderbilt
OF - Brian Anderson, Arkansas
OF - Krey Bratsen, Texas A&M
DH/UTL - Daniel Mengden, Texas A&M
P - Tyler Beede, Vanderbilt
P - Bobby Wahl, Ole Miss
RP - Tyler Webb, South Carolina

1B - Josh Lester, Missouri
2B - Kyle Overstreet, Alabama
3B - Xavier Turner, Vanderbilt
SS - Alex Bregman, LSU
C - Greg Fettes, Kentucky
OF -Kyle Barrett, Kentucky
OF - Vincent Jackson, Tennessee
OF - Harrison Bader, Florida
DH/UTL - Zander Wiel, Vanderbilt
P - Jack Wynkoop, South Carolina
P - Sean McLaughlin, Georgia
RP - Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt
Ray Castillo, Alabama

P - Daniel Mengden, Texas A&M
1B - Mason Katz, LSU; Cole Lankford, Texas A&M
2B - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt
SS - Adam Frazier, Mississippi State
3B - Christian Ibarra, LSU
C - Stuart Turner, Ole Miss
OF - Austin Cousino, Kentucky
OF - Mike Yastrzemski, Vanderbilt
OF - Hunter Renfroe, Mississippi State

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 209250521 -
Gray Television, Inc.