Georgia Southern players honored by the league

By: Staff
By: Staff

Tuesday November 20, 2012

SPARTANBURG, S.C. - Seven members of the Georgia Southern Football team were named All-Southern Conference as announced by the league office on Tuesday. The Eagles also had two members named to the All-Freshman team.

Dorian Byrd (Macon, Ga.) and Brent Russell (Comer, Ga.) headlined the list of seven selections as both were consensus First Team selections by both the media and coaches. Byrd started five games at left tackle for GSU and helped the Eagles rank as the top rushing offense in the FCS. Russell started 10 games at defensive tackle and tied the school record for career sacks with 3.5 sacks this season. Russell finished the regular season with 35 tackles and 7.5 tackles for loss.

Patrick Flowe (Lilburn, Ga.) and Alex Hanks (Marietta, Ga.) were both
named to the SoCon All-Freshman team. Flowe appeared in all 11 games and made four starts at linebacker. The freshman finished the year with 32 tackles and two sacks. Hanks connected on three of six field goals from beyond 30 yards and finished the regular season with a 42.9 field goal percentage.

Three other members of Georgia Southern’s Co-Southern Conference Championship squad, Dion DuBose (Norcross, Ga.), Darius Eubanks (Thomson, Ga.) and J.J. Wilcox (Cairo, Ga.), were selected to the First Team by the coaches. DuBose returned from a season-ending injury in 2010 to finish the 2012 regular season with 41 tackles, 6.0 tackles for loss and 3.5 sacks. Eubanks finished third on the team with 57 tackles, while fellow safety Wilcox was second on the team with 72 tackles.

Rounding out the list, Logan Daves (Blue Ridge, Ga.) and Javon Mention (Tampa, Fla.) were named Second Team by the league's media members. Daves made eight starts at right guard and played in two other games for the Eagles. Mention led the team with 8.5 tackles for loss and 6.5 sacks and finished the regular season with 22 tackles.

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 180219761 -
Gray Television, Inc.