Biffle Grabs The Pole For Darlington

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Friday May 9, 2008
DARLINGTON, S.C. (AP) -- Forty-one of the 44 drivers who took the
track today to qualify for the Sprint Cup race at Darlington
Raceway broke the old track record.

Greg Biffle blistered the newly repaved superspeedway with a lap
of 179.442 miles per hour to win the pole. The old track record was
173.797 miles per hour set by Ward Burton in 1996.

Dale Earnhardt Junior qualified second and Jimmie Johnson was
third for tomorrow night's Dodge Charger 500. Tony Stewart will start fourth and Kurt Busch fifth. Although Johnny Sauter and Jeff Green both broke the track record, they failed to make the race.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 18820439 -
Gray Television, Inc.