Top women's golfer to receiver the Annika Award

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Tuesday April 2, 2013

RANCHO MIRAGE, Calif. (AP) -- The Annika Award will be presented to the top NCAA Division I women's player, starting next year.

The Annika Foundation and the Haskins Commission announced the award Tuesday at the Kraft Nabisco Championship. The Haskins Commission also presents the Haskins Award, named in honor of the late Fred Haskins, to the top men's college player.

Sorenstam, the Swede who starred at the University of Arizona before her Hall of Fame LPGA Tour, and Golfweek magazine also are completing plans for a women's college tournament that will begin play next year in the Orlando, Fla., area.

Copyright 2013 Associated Press

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 201135271 -
Gray Television, Inc.