Adam Scott named golf writers player of the year

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press
Adam Scott wins the 77th Masters Tournament. (WRDW-TV)

Adam Scott wins the 77th Masters Tournament. (WRDW-TV)

Thursday, January 2, 2013

KAPALUA, Hawaii (AP) -- Adam Scott narrowly beat out Tiger Woods as player of the year in voting by the Golf Writers Association of America.

The GWAA takes into account more than just the PGA Tour. Scott won four times, including the Masters, and joined Jason Day in winning the World Cup for Australia. Out of 218 votes cast, Scott won the honor by five votes.

Woods won five times on the PGA Tour, but no majors. He also won the money title and Vardon Trophy for lowest scoring average. Woods previously won player of the year by the PGA Tour and the PGA of America.

Scott also won The Barclays, the Australian PGA and the Australian Masters.

Inbee Park and Kenny Perry were runaway winners for female and senior players of the year.

Copyright 2013 Associated Press

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 238473781 -
Gray Television, Inc.