Baseball's Beacon Awards announced.


APRIL 8, 2009
CINCINNATI (AP) -- Muhammad Ali, Bill Cosby and Henry Aaron have
been chosen by Major League Baseball for this year's Beacon Awards
to be presented as part of this year's Civil Rights Game.
The game originated in Memphis, Tenn., in 2007 as an exhibition
and will be played during the regular season for the first time
when the Reds host the Chicago White Sox on June 20 in Cincinnati.
Baseball officials say the awards are intended to honor
individuals whose lives are emblematic of the civil rights
movement. The honors will be presented at a luncheon before the
Previous Beacon Award winners include filmmaker Spike Lee,
actress Ruby Dee and baseball Hall of Famer Frank Robinson.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 42668647 -
Gray Television, Inc.