AP Names All Pro Team

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Friday Jan. 9, 2009
NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- Baltimore Ravens safety Ed Reed is the only unanimous selection to The Associated Press 2008 NFL All-Pro team that has 15 first-timers. Ten of the 14 offensive players and five of the 13 on defense had never been All-Pros.

The select squad also consists of such standbys as three-time NFL Most Valuable Player Peyton Manning of the Indianapolis Colts at quarterback and six-time All-Pro linebacker Ray Lewis of Baltimore.

The slew of new All-Pros on offense includes running backs Michael Turner of Atlanta and Adrian Peterson of Minnesota.

There are six repeaters from last year's team: Reed, Dallas linebacker DeMarcus Ware; defensive tackles Albert Haynesworth of Tennessee and Kevin Williams of Minnesota; defensive end Jared Allen of Minnesota, who was with the Chiefs in 2007; and Vikings guard Steve Hutchinson.

Kansas City tight end Tony Gonzalez made his fifth All-Pro team. Punter Shane Lechler of Oakland made his fourth team. And Titans center Kevin Mawae was chosen for the third time.

A nationwide panel of 50 sports writers and broadcasters who cover the NFL participated in the balloting.

In all, 16 AFC players and 11 from the NFC were honored this season. The Titans and Vikings led with four players each and Baltimore had three.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 newsroom@wrdw.com Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 37344344 - wrdw.com/a?a=37344344
Gray Television, Inc.