Hall Of Fame Finalists Announced

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Tuesday Jan 6, 2009
CANTON, Ohio (AP) -- Former Fort Wayne Snider and Purdue star Rod Woodson is among the 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Woodson, Bruce Smith, Shannon Sharpe and John Randle are the only first-year eligible players to make the final round this year.

Joining them are two contributors: former commissioner Paul
Tagliabue and Buffalo Bills owner Ralph Wilson, as well as two senior nominees selected last August by the Senior Committee: former Atlanta defensive end Claude Humphrey and former Dallas wide receiver Bob Hayes.

Between four and seven candidates will be elected in the balloting that will take place in Tampa Jan. 31, the day before the Super Bowl.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 newsroom@wrdw.com Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 37183429 - wrdw.com/a?a=37183429
Gray Television, Inc.