Bradford Named AP College Player Of the Year

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Monday Dec. 22, 2008
NORMAN, Okla. (AP) -- Sam Bradford is The Associated Press college football player of the year.

The Heisman Trophy winner from Oklahoma outpointed two other quarterbacks -- Colt McCoy of Texas and Tim Tebow of Florida.

Bradford received 27 votes Monday from the AP media panel that votes in the weekly poll. McCoy finished second with 17 votes. Tebow won last year and had 16 votes this time. Texas Tech receiver Michael Crabtree had two votes.

Bradford is the third Oklahoma player to win the AP award, which began in 1998. The others were Josh Heupel and Jason White. Bradford will lead No. 2 Oklahoma against Tebow and No. 1 Florida in the BCS title game Jan. 8 in Miami.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 36581904 -
Gray Television, Inc.