Rookie Of The Year Awards Handed Out

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Monday Nov. 10,2008
NEW YORK (AP) -- Tampa Bay's Evan Longoria is the 2008 American League rookie of the year. The 23-year-old third baseman was named
first on all 28 ballots cast by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Longoria is the first Rays player in the franchise's 11-year history to capture the honor.

Longoria hit .272 with 27 home runs and 85 RBIs in 122 games following an early-season call up. Chicago White Sox second baseman Alexei Ramirez was a distant runner up after hitting .297 with 21 home runs and 77 RBIs. Longoria is the seventh AL rookie to win the award by a unanimous vote and the first since Nomar Garciaparra with Boston in 1997.

Chicago Cubs catcher Geovanny Soto is the National League rookie of the year after receiving 31 of 32 first-place votes. The other went to Cincinnati's Joey Votto. Soto hit .285 with 23 homers and 86 RBIs. He became the first catcher to win Rookie of the Year in either league since Mike Piazza of the Los Angeles Dodgers in 1993. Votto batted .297 with 24 homers and 84 RBIs.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 34214649 -
Gray Television, Inc.