Maddux Wins Another Gold Glove

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Wednesday Nov. 5, 2008
NEW YORK (AP) -- Pitcher Greg Maddux has won a record 18th Gold Glove, while outfielder Shane Victorino of the World Series champion Philadelphia Phillies is among five first-time winners in the National League.

Shortstop Jimmy Rollins joins teammate Victorino, winning for the second consecutive season. The New York Mets also had two winners: outfielder Carlos Beltran and third baseman David Wright, both of whom repeated.

Other first-time honorees for defensive excellence were St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina, San Diego first baseman Adrian Gonzalez, Cincinnati second baseman Brandon Phillips and Pittsburgh outfielder Nate McLouth.

The Houston Astros, who committed 16 fewer errors than any other major-league team, did not have a winner. Maddux, who is pondering retirement after 355 wins, has been the NL recipient for pitchers every year since 1990 with the exception of 2003, when Mike Hampton interrupted the streak.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 33921229 -
Gray Television, Inc.