Jimmie Johnson Wins Brickyard Pole

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Saturday, July 26, 2008 (AP) -- Two-time defending NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson won the pole for Saturday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, giving him the top starting spot in a race that has consistently vexed him.

Johnson ran a lap at 181.763 mph in his Chevrolet to beat Mark Martin, who guaranteed in June that he'd win Sunday's race. Martin's lap was 181.393 in a Chevy. Ryan Newman qualified third and was followed by Kasey Kahne and four-time Brickyard winner Jeff Gordon.

Failing to qualify were Bill Elliott, Johnny Sauter, Stanton Barrett and Tony Raines.

Although Johnson won at the Brickyard in 2006, he's got three finishes of 36th or worse here and was in a fiery wreck last season.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 newsroom@wrdw.com Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 25943099 - wrdw.com/a?a=25943099
Gray Television, Inc.