College World Series Staying In Omaha

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Thursday June 12, 2008
INDIANAPOLIS (AP) -- The NCAA will keep the College World Series
in Omaha, Neb., through 2035 under an unprecedented 25-year
contract extension. The baseball championship has been in Omaha each year since 1950. The new agreement will take effect in 2011 when the CWS moves from Rosenblatt Stadium to a 24,000-seat downtown ballpark.

NCAA president Myles Brand said Thursday the city's commitment
to a new stadium was a factor in the long extension. The 2008 series begins Saturday. The eight teams in the field are: Georgia, Florida State, Rice, Stanford, North Carolina, LSU, Fresno State and Miami.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 19834484 -
Gray Television, Inc.