No Change For World Baseball Classic

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Tuesday Feb. 19, 2008
NEW YORK (AP) -- Next year's World Baseball Classic will have the
same 16-team field that competed in the initial tournament in 2006.
The tournament organization, which is controlled by Major League
Baseball and the players' association, has invited the eight teams
that failed to advance past the first round two years ago:
Australia, Canada, China, Italy, Netherlands, Panama, South Africa
and Taiwan.
Last April, organizers invited the eight teams that made it to
the second round: Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Mexico, Puerto
Rico, South Korea, the United States, Venezuela and defending
champion Japan.
Organizers say they plan to establish qualifying rounds for the
2013 tournament.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 15772282 -
Gray Television, Inc.