Ray Guy Award semifinalist announced

NCAA Football
By  | 

Augusta, GA (November 9, 2012) - The Augusta Sports Council has announced the ten semifinalists for the 2012 Ray Guy Award. The semifinalists were chosen from a field of 69 candidates for the award, which recognizes the most outstanding punter in college football.

The candidates were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the punter’s net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line and percentage of punts not returned. A national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners will decide the three award finalists, who will be announced on November 19. Voters will then cast a second round of ballots to decide the winner.

2012 Ray Guy Award Semi-Finalists
Ryan Allen (Sr.) – Louisiana Tech
Kyle Christy (So.) – Florida
Steven Clark (Jr.) – Auburn
Josh Hubner (Sr.) – Arizona State
Scott Kovanda (Sr.) – Ball State
Jeff Locke (Sr.) – UCLA
Riley Stephenson (Sr.) – BYU
Kirby Van Der Kamp (Jr.) – Iowa State
Tyler Williams (Fr.) – Marshall
Brad Wing (So.) - LSU

The presentation of the Ray Guy Award will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards live on Thursday, December 6 at 7:30 pm ET on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard will feature live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney’s Spirit Award, The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award, and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.