North Augusta's NeSmith named Honorable Mention All-American

Matt NeSmith (WRDW-TV)
Matt NeSmith (WRDW-TV)
By  | 

Thursday, June 20, 2013

COLUMBIA, S.C. — South Carolina freshman Matt NeSmith has been named to the PING Honorable Mention All-America Team, the Golf Coaches Association of America announced Thursday.

NeSmith becomes the 19th golfer in school history to garner the honor and is the first Gamecock freshman to receive the accolade since George Bryan IV earned honorable mention honors in 2007.

A native of North Augusta, S.C., NeSmith turned in one of the most decorated freshman seasons in school history. On top of the All-American honor, he was also named the SEC Co-Freshman of the Year and earned a spot on the PING All-Southeast Region Team. He led South Carolina to a runner-up finish at the SEC Championship and a tie for second showing at the NCAA Columbus Regional, which secured the program’s first NCAA Championship berth since 2009. He recorded seven top-10 finishes this season, tying for the second most all-time in a single season at South Carolina. He also led the Gamecocks in scoring with a stroke average of 72.64, which is the second lowest average for a freshman in school history. NeSmith was South Carolina’s top finisher at the NCAA Championship as he tied for 38th after firing a final-round 66 (-4), matching the lowest NCAA Championship score in school history.

NeSmith was one of 12 golfers from the SEC to be named to the PING All-America teams.

PING All-America Teams
First Team
Daniel Berger, Florida State
Julien Brun, TCU
Greg Eason, UCF
James Erkenbeck, New Mexico
Max Homa, California
Michael Kim, California
Cheng-Tsung Pan, Washington
Patrick Rodgers, Stanford
Brandon Stone, Texas
Michael Weaver, California
Cory Whitsett, Alabama

Second Team
Albin Choi, NC State
Sean Dale, North Florida
Scott Fernandez, Iowa State
Pedro Figueiredo, UCLA
Brandon Hagy, California
Brinson Paolini, Duke
Joel Stalter, California
Justin Thomas, Alabama
Chris Williams, Washington
Bobby Wyatt, Alabama

Third Team
Anders Albertson, Georgia Tech
Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas
Corey Conners, Kent State
Oliver Goss, Tennessee
Gavin Green, New Mexico
MJ Maguire, North Florida
Thomas Pieters, Illinois
Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech
Pontus Widegren, UCLA
Cameron Wilson, Stanford

Honorable Mention
Evan Beck, Wake Forest
Zac Blair, BYU
Dominic Bozzelli, Auburn
Rodolfo Cazaubon, North Texas
Yi Keun Chang, Southern California
Mario Clemens, SMU
Charlie Danielson, Illinois
Ian Davis, Oklahoma State
Tyler Dunlap, Texas A&M
Nicolas Echavarria, Arkansas
Jonathan Garrick, UCLA
Jonathan Grey, Georgia State
Cody Gribble, Texas
Rick Lamb, Tennessee
Denny McCarthy, Virginia
Tyler McCumber, Florida
Matt NeSmith, South Carolina
Jordan Niebrugge, Oklahoma State
Kevin Penner, UNLV
Jack Perry, Northwestern
Kevin Phelan, North Florida
Jon Rahm, Arizona State
Seth Reeves, Georgia Tech
Chase Seiffert, Florida State
Sam Smith, Southern California
Sebastian Soderberg, Coastal Carolina
Scott Strohmeyer, Alabama

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus