Gamecocks' Greiner named to Bench Award watch list

USC baseball
By  | 

Monday, March 11, 2013

Columbia, S.C. – South Carolina sophomore catcher Grayson Greiner is one of 48 catchers in the nation to be named to the Johnny Bench Award Watch List as announced by the Greater Wichita Sports Commission and presented by

Greiner has started 10 games behind the dish and has put together 95 putouts with six assists. He has worked with the pitching staff that currently owns a 1.96 ERA. Greiner has been tremendous with the pitchers in keeping the run game in check as he has allowed just three stolen bases on the year.

The watch list will be narrowed down to the semifinalists, whom will be announced May 16, 2013. Ballots will be sent to the national voting panel at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 4, 2013. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 15th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 27, 2013.

“We are extremely appreciative to and Mr. Johnny Bench for supporting this prestigious award,” stated Bob Hanson, President/CEO of the Sports Commission. “They are the ones who make all of this possible.

2013 Johnny Bench Award presented by Watch List
• Blake Austin JR Auburn University
• Brett Austin SO North Carolina State University
• Dan Bethea SR St. John's University
• Austin Bossart SO University of Pennsylvania
• Ryan Breen SR University of Central Florida
• Garrett Custons SR Air Force Academy
• Mike Danaher SR Binghamton University
• Blair DeBord JR Kansas State University
• Brian Dixon JR University of New Orleans
• Kaiana Eldredge JR University of Kansas
• Zane Evans JR Georgia Tech
• Drew Farber JR UNC Wilmington
• Jacob Felts JR University of Texas
• Aramis Garcia SO Florida International University
• Mitchell Garver SR University of New Mexico
• Kyle Gibson JR University of Louisville
• Grayson Greiner SO University of South Carolina
• Radley Haddad SR Butler University
• Chris Hoo JR Cal Poly
• Nate Irving SO University of Virginia
• Blake Johnson SR Arkansas-Little Rock
• Jose Longoria SR Grambling State University
• Adam Martin JR Western Carolina University
• Stephen McGee JR Florida State University
• Riley Moore SO University of Arizona
• Spencer Navin JR Vanderbilt University
• Grant Nelson SR Saint Louis University
• Ramon Ortega SR Manhattan College
• Matt Paré SR Boston College
• Jordan Parris JR Tennessee Tech University
• Colton Plaia SR Loyola Marymount University
• Jake Rodriguez JR Oregon State University
• Tyler Ross JR Louisiana State University
• Tanner Rust JR New Mexico State University
• Scott Sarratt SR Georgia State University
• Brandon Schott SR University of Maryland Eastern Shore
• Kyle Schwarber SO Indiana University
• Ronnie Shaeffer SR UC Irvine
• Adam Sonabend JR Eastern Michigan University
• Elvin Soto SO University of Pittsburgh
• Michael Spano SR Florida Atlantic University
• Andrew Stumph SR Texas State University
• Alex Swim SR Elon University
• Stuart Turner JR University of Mississippi
• Luke Voit SR Missouri State University
• Matt Winn SO Virginia Military Institute
• Jake Wise JR University of Arkansas
• Mack Zagunis SO Virginia Tech

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus