Finalist for Ray Guy award named

Ray Guy Award (WRDW-TV)
By  | 

Augusta, GA (November 25, 2013) - The Augusta Sports Council has announced three finalists for the 2013 Ray Guy Award. All players are first-time finalists for the annual award.

The finalists were selected by a national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media, and former Ray Guy Award winners. The voters will cast a second round of ballots to decide the winner. The candidates were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the punter’s net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line and percentage of punts not returned.

2013 Ray Guy Award Finalists
Tom Hornsey (Sr.) - Memphis
Drew Kaser (So.) - Texas A&M
Cody Webster (Sr.) - Purdue

The three Ray Guy Award finalists will be highlighted on ESPNU during The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special airing Tuesday, November 26 at 5:30 p.m. (ET). The 30-minute show, hosted by Anish Shroff, will include player interviews and analysis from Charles Arbuckle surrounding finalists for the Ray Guy Award and other members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA).

This year’s Ray Guy Award winner will be revealed on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing live from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort on Thursday, December 12 at 7:00 p.m.