Ray Guy award candidates named

By  | 

Augusta, GA (October 29, 2009) - The Augusta Sports Council announced today the candidates for the 2009 Ray Guy Award, which identifies the nation’s top collegiate punter. The list will be narrowed to ten semi-finalists that will be named on November 13.

Following the semi-finalists announcement, a national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will vote for the top three finalists, and ultimately the winner. The winner will be announced live during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing on ESPN December 10.

Two punters from the pre-season watch list, Michigan’s Zoltan Mesko and Derek Epperson of Baylor, both semi-finalists in 2008, have proven their pre-season notice was well deserved. Mesko is currently ranked fifth in the NCAA rankings, with his Wolverines ranked fourth in Net Punting. Baylor’s Epperson is currently ranked third. Two new standouts are Georgia sophomore, Drew Butler, currently ranked first, and UCLA freshman Jeff Locke, who is second in the NCAA. The Bulldogs and the Bruins are also ranked first and second in Net Punting.

2009 Ray Guy Award Candidates List

Delbert Alvarado Senior South Florida
Bryan Anger Sophomore California
Ben Armer Sophomore Western Michigan
Jeremy Boone Senior Penn State
Brent Bowden Senior VA Tech
Mike Brandtner Senior Iowa State
Drew Butler Sophomore Georgia
Peter Caldwell Junior Utah State
Desi Cullen Senior Connecticut
David Defatta Senior Middle Tennessee
Kyle Delahooke Junior Navy
Matt DiLallo Senior Colorado
Matt Dodge Senior East Carolina
Ryan Donahue Junior Iowa
Clinton Durst Senior Auburn
Derek Epperson Junior Baylor
P.J. Fitzgerald Senior Alabama
Reid Forrest Junior Washington State
Will Goggans Sophomore Troy

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus