USC Aiken's Chris Commons named player of the year

By  | 

AUGUSTA, Ga. – Chris Commons was named the Peach Belt Conference Player of the Year for the 2008-09 season it was announced by the league office on Tuesday, March 3.

Commons was one of three USC Aiken men’s basketball players to earn All-Conference accolades from the conference as Javonte Clanton (Columbus, Ohio/Blinn) and Josh Dollard (Hemingway, S.C./Auburn) were both tabbed to the 2009 PBC All-Conference Men’s Basketball Second Team. Commons was a first team selection.

Commons (Toledo, Ohio/Findlay) is the fifth player in the history of the Peach Belt Conference to earn Player of the Year honors in back-to-back seasons. Commons was the Co-Player of the Year in the 2007-08 season with Augusta State’s A.J. Bowman.

Commons ended the year second in the league in scoring at 17.4 points per game. Commons nevertheless made a league-best 184 field goals during the 2008-09 season.

Commons was in the top 13 in a total of six categories at the conclusion of the regular season.

The 2007-08 Peach Belt Conference Co-Player of the Year was sixth in the league in field goal percentage (53.8 percent), 12th in the league in rebounds (6.1 per game), third in the conference in blocked shots (1.85 per game), 11th in offensive rebounds (2.30 per game), 13th in defensive rebounds (3.85 per game) and fifth in minutes played (31.11 per game).

Chris Commons has scored in double figures in every game but three in the 2008-09 season for the Pacers. The senior forward has scored 20 or more in 11 of USC Aiken’s 27 games.

Since joining the Pacer program prior to the start of the 2007-08 season, Commons has scored 20 or more 32 times. Although he has not accomplished the feat this season, Commons has scored 30 or more in seven games.

Augusta State's Ben Madgen and Garret Siler were also selected to the all first team. Josh Dollard and Javonte Clanton from the Pacers were also named to the second team.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus