Two More Schools Join Peach Belt Conference

By  | 

Thursday Dec. 18, 2008
AUGUSTA, GA – The Peach Belt Conference, president Dr. David Potter and Commissioner David Brunk are pleased to announce that the University of Montevallo and Flagler College have been accepted for membership in the league. The PBC board of directors, comprised of the presidents of the 11 league members, voted unanimously to accept both schools and expand the league to 13 teams.

"We are pleased to welcome the University of Montevallo and Flagler College to the Peach Belt Conference," said Dr. Potter, president of North Georgia College & State University and serving as president of the PBC board of directors for 2008-09. "These two institutions bring a heritage of academic excellence and competitive athletics to our conference, making them a good fit with the Peach Belt philosophy of Division II athletics. We share a commitment to provide a broad educational experience for our student-athletes that challenges them to excel in their sports, in the classroom, and in their communities. These additions will strengthen the conference in pursuit of these goals."

Montevallo and Flagler will become full participating members of the Peach Belt for the 2009-10 season. As both schools are already full NCAA Division II members, no provisional period will be required and both will begin competing for PBC championships next fall.

"This is one of the most important things that has ever happened to the Peach Belt," said Brunk, who was named Commissioner in July 2007. "It is a signature day for us to welcome in Montevallo and Flagler, two institutions that fit perfectly with our existing membership and give our conference the opportunity to reach alumni and fans in places we have never been before. Its not just expansion in the number of schools we have, its bringing in two quality institutions that meet our academic criteria and provide real competition on the field."

Founded in 1991, the Peach Belt Conference has undergone several membership changes over the last five years, but the addition of Montevallo and Flagler will give the league 13 teams, the most it has ever had. Started with seven charter members, the Peach Belt grew to 12 members in 1997 and remained at that number for eight years. Kennesaw State and North Florida left the league in 2005 to move up to the Division I ranks and USC Upstate followed in 2007.

The PBC added North Georgia College & State University in 2005 and Georgia Southwestern State University in 2006 to bring its current number to 11.