Ray Guy Misses Out Again On Football Hall Of Fame

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

News 12 @ 6, Feb 2, 2008
PHOENIX (AP) -- Art Monk, Darrell Green, Fred Dean, Gary
Zimmerman, Andre Tippett and Emmitt Thomas have been elected to the
Pro Football Hall of Fame.
Former commissioner Paul Tagliabue failed to
get in for the second straight year.
Green was one of the NFL's speediest and most skilled
cornerbacks for two decades with the Washington Redskins. He was a
seven-time Pro Bowler and a member of the 1990s All-Decade team.
The other player in his first year of eligibility, receiver Cris
Carter, was not elected.
Monk, another long-time Redskin, finally was chosen in his
eighth year of eligibility.
Inductions will take place at the Pro Football Hall of Game in
Canton, Ohio, on August 2nd.
Thomason resident and one of the greatest punters of all time Ray Guy did not make it. Guy has been on the ballot numerous occassions but has never garnered enough votes to receive the honor.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 newsroom@wrdw.com Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 15138111 - wrdw.com/a?a=15138111
Gray Television, Inc.