The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) has launched a new website, www.gateendrivereducation.com, for teens and parents to obtain information about the changes in Georgia’s driver education requirements. The website includes an on-line question and comment tool for specific inquiries. DDS has also notified approximately 11,000 teens via mail who will become eligible January, 2007 and after to ensure that they are aware of the new requirements.
New Requirements Effective January 1, 2007
Senate Bill 226 also known as "Joshua's Law” was passed during the 2005 General Assembly. Beginning January 1, 2007, all 16-year-olds applying for a Class D driver's license must complete an approved driver education course AND complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night, with a parent or guardian's sworn verification that these driving requirements have been met.
Georgia Driver Education Commission
The Georgia Driver Education Commission, also created by SB226, has reviewed and approved various programs in order to develop a comprehensive plan for accessible, affordable and effective driver education statewide. Some of the potential access points for students to obtain the mandatory training include: public and private high school programs; private driver education schools; a virtual (on-line) classroom component and a parent supervised on-the-road program. The training can be obtained in a combination of ways to accommodate schedules and lifestyles.
Requirements for 17-year-olds
Any Georgia student who has not completed an approved driver education course must wait until age 17 to be eligible for a Class D driver's license. He or she must still complete a total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including at least 6 hours at night, with a parent or guardian’s sworn verification that these driving requirements have been met.
Additional Requirements for Class D License
Eligibility requirements also include: teen must have held a learner’s permit for one year and one day, provide a certificate of school attendance, a social security number, an Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP)card and a parent or legal guardian must be present at the time of issuance.