5 Richmond Co. middle schools ordered to restructure

More than 1700 schools across the country have not met adequate yearly progress for 5 years under President Bush's No Child Left Behind Act.

Now all of those schools are ordered to restructure.

In Richmond County, there are five middle schools on that list: Glenn Hills, Morgan Road, Murphy, Sego, and Tubman.

Under the order by the Bush Administration, the Richmond County school system has been given a list of steps to take to improve the schools.

Murphy Middle School and Jenkins-White Elementary have applied for charter status with the state Board of Education.

News 12 spoke with Dana Tofig, spokesman for the Georgia Department of Education.

He tells us Jenkins-White's charter status was approved May 11.

There's no word yet on when Murphy Middle's charter status will come up for a vote.

Receiving the charter status is a plan for improvement, but if the schools do not improve, the state could take over.

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 newsroom@wrdw.com Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 2786571 - wrdw.com/a?a=2786571
Gray Television, Inc.