Mayor Copenhaver to have increased role in Russell absence

By: Staff
By: Staff
Augusta Mayor Deke Copenhaver (WRDW-TV)

Augusta Mayor Deke Copenhaver (WRDW-TV)

Tuesday, Dec. 17, 2013

AUGUSTA, Ga. (WRDW) -- Augusta commissioners voted 9-1 to give Mayor Deke Copenhaver sign-off powers after Administrator Fred Russell leaves at the end of the year.

Mayor pro-tem Corey Johnson will take on the job temporarily when Copenhaver isn't present. In today's vote, Commissioners Marion Williams abstained.

Last week Fred Russell was fired with a 7-0 vote.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 236253491 -
Gray Television, Inc.