Feds offer drought aid in 6 more Ga. counties

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

Tuesday, Sept. 25, 2012

ATLANTA (AP) -- The U.S. Small Business Administration has extended its disaster loan program to six more Georgia counties affected by drought.

The loans target farm-related and other entities not covered by aid from the Department of Agriculture. Based on conditions since late July, the newly eligible counties are Bartow, Chattooga, Floyd, Gordon, Polk and Walker. Last month, SBA declared 12 other counties eligible for aid.

The loans cover fixed costs such as payroll and scheduled debt payments. They are capped at $2 million with terms up to 30 years. Interest rates are 3 percent for non-profits and 4 percent for small businesses. The SBA determines the amounts and specific terms.

More information for potential applicants is available 800-659-2955 or www.sba.gov.

The application deadline for six new counties is May 20, 2103.

(Copyright 2012, The Associated Press)

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 newsroom@wrdw.com Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 171236411 - wrdw.com/a?a=171236411
Gray Television, Inc.