Bill to end government shutdown: How GA and SC Senators voted

News 12 at 11 o'clock / Wednesday October 16, 2013

WASHINGTON, D.C. (WRDW) -- Bill to end government shutdown: how GA and SC Senators voted

In a 81-18 vote, the Senate passed a bill to temporarily end the partial government shutdown and raise the nation's debt ceiling. The bill would reopen the government through January 15, 2014 and permit the Treasury to borrow normally through Feb. 7, 2014 or perhaps a month longer.

Three out of the four Republicans representing South Carolina and Georgia voted in favor of it.

Georgia Senators Saxby Chamblis and Johnny Isakson voted "yea," as did South Carolina Senator Lindsay Graham.

South Carolina Senator Timothy Scott voted "nay."

Congress faces a deadline of 11:59 p.m. Thursday when the government would reach the current $16.7 trillion debt limit and could no longer borrow to meet its obligations.

Here's the latest story on the shutdown.

Have information or an opinion about this story? Click here to contact the newsroom.

Copyright WRDW-TV News 12. All rights reserved. This material may not be republished without express written permission. is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules:

Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards.

powered by Disqus
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 228111781 -
Gray Television, Inc.