State of Emergency declared for south Georgia counties

May 3, 2007

Yesterday, Georgia Gov. Sonny Perdue declared a state of emergency in several south Georgia counties due to the wildfires that continue to burn there.

Counties included in the declaration are: Atkinson, Bacon, Berrien, Brantley, Bryan, Camden, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Coffee, Echols, Effingham, Glynn, Lanier, Liberty, Long, Lowndes, McIntosh, Pierce, Ware, and Wayne.

Gov. Perdue also signed an executive order for the entire state lifting restrictions on lumber trucks to accommodate the emergency removal of burnt timber.

Read the declaration of the State of Emergency.

Read Perdue's Executive Order concerning logging trucks.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by Heather Meadows, News 12 Web Producer Location: North Augusta, SC on May 16, 2007 at 07:22 AM
    According to Columbia County's EMT director, Pam Tucker, we are in fact getting smoke from the south Georgia wildfires due to regional wind patterns.
  • by Linda Location: Wrens on May 16, 2007 at 05:50 AM
    May 16, 2007 8:30 a.m. When I left home at 7:50 a.m. to come to work, I smelled smoke but the air was clear. Now at 8:30 a.m. the air is completely full of smoke that you can see and smell. What is going on? Are we getting smoke from South Georgia? I called a friend in Louisville (16 miles) down the road and they are completely covered in smoke, too.
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1212 Augusta, GA 30903 Main Telephone: (803) 278-1212 Newsroom: (803) 278-3111 Fax: (803) 442-4561
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 7314501 -
Gray Television, Inc.