|
Updated: 7:25 PM Jul 3, 2008
Only on 12: One shady website leads to many more
After News 12 first told you about a website you can log onto to see if criminals live near you, the FBI won't confirm or deny if there's an on-going investigation.
Posted: 5:06 PM Jul 3, 2008Reporter: Gene Petriello Email Address: gene.petriello@wrdw.com |
|
News 12 at 6 o'clock; July 3, 2008
After News 12 first told you about a website you can log onto to see if criminals live near you, the FBI won't confirm or deny if there's an on-going investigation.
News 12 investigated on Thursday and found out, there are a lot of websites that claim to be run by the same company. We tried to get some answers for you.
When Bethanie Bridges first saw our story on felonspy.com, she logged on and what she saw, shocked her.
"Apparently, there's an attempted murderer living in my house," says Bridges.
The site does say it's not official or guaranteed, but it leads people to believe it is.
"The fact that you click on the link and it goes to the junk site, makes it clear, that it isn't true," says Bethanie.
It doesn't stop there. The site is apparently run by Vexes Media, LLC. A blog on the Internet says, there are several sites run by the same company. Some of the names of the sites we can't even show you because they're that explicit.
One of the sites, puppyprofits.com even claims to teach you how to train a dog to kill.
We called Vexes Media to investigate, and this is what we heard.
"Due to a recent unfortunate government inquiry into our US operations, we've begun servicing our clients from our Tijuana, Mexico office," says the phone recording from Vexes Media in Clearwater, Florida.
Then, we pressed zero, and got this recording from the same number.
"Hello, and thank you for calling puppyprofits.com, the incredible home business where our clients and friends are making a killing," says the recording.
Now, an animal lover who works in North Augusta is taking some action.
"I've contacted the FBI today and made a formal complaint," says Lisa Williams.
The FBI cannot confirm or deny if there's an investigation right now. So, this may be the work of criminals and the FBI tells us, it is illegal to ask for money if it is a fake website.
So, take this advice to heart.
"Don't trust everything that you see," says Bethanie.
That's basically the message from this whole investigation. We checked into these websites on snopes.com and found out felonspy.com and others were fake.
That's not all. We also saw on snopes.com that there is no Tijuana, Mexico office either for Vexes Media, LLC.
If you would like to file a complaint, head to the fbi.gov. That's the FBI's website and you can get in contact with them.
- UPDATE: Man found naked, shot in the back
- Fans pack local sports bars to cheer on March Madness
- Two horse crashes at Steeplechase, one sent to hospital
- On Your Side: Dozens of HUD Homes available in CSRA
- Engineers, employees prepare to brave Masters traffic
- Senate clears way for local street races in Ga.
- Two men wanted for shooting two brothers
- Local doctors head to Chile on medical mission
- Aiken County KKK rally postponed
- Police say man in Crosland Park accidentally shot himself
- Georgia lawmaker wants drug tests for aid recipients
13 Comments - Research assistant at MCG arrested
10 Comments - Man hurt on railroad tracks in Bath area
8 Comments - UPDATE: Man found naked, shot in the back
8 Comments - Aiken County KKK rally postponed
8 Comments - Aiken man arrested for sub station burglary
7 Comments
| Online Poll |
- Recreational Shooting
- Shoe Drive to Benefit Haiti
- DuPont Planetarium Saturday Nights!
- March is Social Work Month
- Gertrude Herbert Institute of Art Davidson Fine Arts Rising Senior Exhibition
- Gertrude Herbert Institute of Art 4th Spring Artists' Market and Festival
- Umpire Recruiting
- FREE Personal Finance Classes
- American Red Cross of Augusta CPR Classes
- Aiken County Commission for Disabilites Scholarship Opportunity
- AARP Tax Aide offering FREE Tax Help
- Columbia County Library's "Books Alive" Book Fair
- Women Veteran Club
- Amputee Support Group:Walton Rehabilitation
- Spinal Cord Injury Support Group: Walton Rehabilitation Health System
| Maxing Your Money Blog |

