Only on 12: Is FelonSpy.com legit?
Only on 12: Is FelonSpy.com legit? Save Email Print
Posted: 6:29 PM Jul 2, 2008
Last Updated: 11:47 AM Jul 3, 2008
Reporter: Gene Petriello
Email Address: gene.petriello@wrdw.com

A | A | A

News 12 at 6 o'clock; July 2, 2008

AIKEN, S.C. --- It's a website that's supposed to tell you if criminals live in your backyard. But, there are questions whether or not it's a legitimate website.

It's called felonspy.com and it's available in your home. All you have to do is log onto your computer's web browser.

Brendan Lloyd logged on for the first time on Wednesday.

"If it's actually legitimate I think it is a good idea," says Brendan.

It's a website that claims to be community activists making sure you don't fall victim to any crime. They help, because they care.

A mother of three thinks that sounds pretty good.

"You like to know your neighbors. Today's not like it used to be," says Victoria Jenkins.

But, is this site actually legit? Brendan typed in an address and clicked search. She looked at what felons popped up. Then, she searched the same addresses again and the names changed.

"It should show all the offenders or perhaps people who committed crimes all at the same time, not just randomly," says Brendan. "It's obviously not a reliable source from what I've seen and I think it's awful."

Another question is, are the names on the site listed as criminals, legit? We found a man who supposedly lives near Park Avenue in Aiken, convicted of promoting an obscene sexual performance by a child. That's something that would land you on the South Carolina Sex Offender Registry. So, we checked the registry and he wasn't there.

"Once you get your name out there, it's hard to clear your name and say you didn't do it," says Victoria.

"If it's not a government website... showing legitimately these people have been convicted of these crimes, I don't think it should be up on the Internet," says Brendan.

The FBI in Atlanta said they are not looking into whether this is a legit site or not. The Aiken County Sheriff's Office wouldn't use this site for their work purposes.

There is a disclaimer on the site saying it's not official nor guaranteed.

More Stories
UPDATE: McNair death called a homicide

SEVERE T-STORM WATCH

Jefferson County man accused of shooting another man and himself

UPDATED: Missing Elderly Woman Found Dead

Celebrating the Fourth

Traffic moving again on Gordon Hwy. after accident

Search crews ask for help in the search for an elderly Augusta woman

Former NFL QB Steve McNair killed

Post Your Comments
First Name:
Location:
Enter Comments: characters left
Email (optional):
By posting this comment I have read and agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy:
You must agree to the Terms of Service to continue.
Read Comments
Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
Posted by: HomeShopper Location: NorthernVA on Aug 3, 2008 at 08:11 PM
FelonSpy was recommended to me so I could check out neighborhoods before purchasing a home. I was horrified at what I found. BUT when I decided to look at the terms of agreement for the website it was more amusing than anything. So I am, to say the least, skeptical about felonspy's legitimacy. If it isn't legit it shoudl be taken down.

Posted by: Vexes LLC on Jul 4, 2008 at 11:41 AM
welcome to the 24 hr news cycle and new era of info-tainment. it really seems at times there is no such thing as "news reporting" anymore. there is only advertisers and a need to be as sensationalistic as possible.

Posted by: jimmy Location: augusta on Jul 3, 2008 at 05:55 PM
jermaine is really f'n stoopid.

Posted by: jermaine brown Location: augusta on Jul 3, 2008 at 10:13 AM
This site uses php/java to random generate the names,crimes,address and what ever else is put into a DB (database) which it draws it's information from. Anyone with common page design knowledge would figure this out fairly quickly. so what i'm say is that it is fake. If you click the search key over and over for the same area it creates different names,crimes etc. everytime. so if this is all news 12 has to report on. please do the people of augusta a favor, report on real news. Try report on all the gangs/drugs in augusta, or the corupt cops and the leaders of our community. report on a real scam or about how you didn't report that lucky street is a high crime area of augusta which gang members hang out and traffic crack in the area. you didn't report that to the people. or the fact that X-mart is not in the gateway of augusta, it is in one of the worst parts of town. run down hotels, not to mention it's only in the middle of crack land.

Posted by: Anonymous on Jul 2, 2008 at 08:00 PM
I commented before. Pick and address and keep pulling up the site and check the address. You'll notice different charges different people etc... Keep checking your address enough and you might find that you are surrounded by "felons"

Posted by: walden Location: augusta on Jul 2, 2008 at 07:50 PM
Oh common channel 12 this is a joke website. Just look at the charges that the "felons" are charged with, they are not GA Code. I've seen this site before and somewhere on it there is an explanation as to what they are doing. Do a little more investigation before you waste TV time on it

Posted by: Nick Location: Augusta on Jul 2, 2008 at 07:44 PM
Can I help by suggesting someone who needs to be listed? "Yes you can! Just use our contact page, and we’ll get them added in a hot hurry. Usually we verify it, but usually we don’t have the needed time or resources to insure it is valid. Please use this tool with honesty and integrity" "There are no mistakes in this site, and if you think there is, you’re probably the exact sort of criminal we all need to beware of." Ummmmmm this is a little shady.

Top Video
Online Poll
Should Gov. Mark Sanford resign?

Yes
No


Maxing Your Money Blog
Sponsored Headlines