Do Not Call List now permanent

By  | 

February 25, 2008

ATLANTA – You no longer have to renew your Do Not Call listing on the Federal Do Not Call Registry, thanks to federal legislation signed into law last week.

President George W. Bush signed legislation on February 15, 2008 which removes the five-year expiration period making the Do Not Call list permanent and allows the Federal Trade Commission to continue collecting fees from telemarketers to access the Do Not Call Registry. This will ensure consumers are protected from most unwanted telemarketer calls while ensuring regular funding to help support the list.

When a consumer registers with the Federal Do Not Call Registry, his/her telephone number(s) is automatically included on the Georgia Do Not Call List. There is no charge to be on the Federal Registry.

To enroll with the Federal Do Not Call Registry, a consumer must either call 1-888-382-1222 from the telephone number he/she wishes to register or enroll online at The Federal Do Not Call Register was established in June 2003. To report violations, contact the Federal Communications Commission at 1-888-225-5322.

For additional information visit the Georgia Public Service Commission website, linked below.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus